Breaking Bad Season 1 Review

PLOT: Informed he has terminal cancer, an underachieving chemistry genius turned high school chemistry teacher turns to using his expertise in chemistry to provide a legacy for his family… by producing the world’s highest quality crystal meth.

I just recently started and finished Breaking Bad season 1 and I love it. I am a big fan of drug related shows like this.

I became a fan of Bryan Cranston when he was playing as Hal in Malcolm in the Middle. I thought he was a very funny guy. And who knew he could be such a serious actor? Him as Walt White is a much different role. And he does such a great job at it.

My favorite episodes have to be the first two and the last two. Mainly the episodes with the drug making. No, I do not use or like drugs. But I was thinking during the slightly boring parts of the show, mostly Walt talking about his cancer with his family, was why isn’t he being bad all the time? Then, I thought the show is call Breaking Bad not Being Bad. So, that’s why. He is slowly becoming bad.

But Walt’s family isn’t dumb as they soon see a change in his behavior. They soon find out about his lung cancer and beg him to get treatment. But as we all know, treatment isn’t free. And if Walt wants his family to have money and not be in debt he’s going to need to make a lot of money fast. Being a high school teacher isn’t going to cut it.

At the end of the season Walt has pretty much broke bad. So, I have a feeling season two is going to be sick. More drugs and violence. Which is always a good thing.

I get it, the guy wants his family to have money when he dies. He doesn’t have much time, so might as well break bad, right? Wouldn’t you do everything you could to support your family? I’m sure cooking meth isn’t high on anyone’s list. It’s not on my list.

One thing I noticed is that on the DVD the F-bomb is dropped quite a few times. Which I find odd as of the show is on AMC. A channel that doesn’t allow the F-bomb. Or nudity but in the pilot on the DVD there is some. So, I guess they put it in for the DVD but cut it out on the show since the channel doesn’t allow it.

Leave a Reply

