Public Enemies Review

3 out of 5

John Dillinger, any questions?

Plot: The Feds try to take down notorious American gangsters John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson and Pretty Boy Floyd during a booming crime wave in the 1930s.

J. Edgar Hoover and the FBI who used it to describe various notorious fugitives that they were pursuing throughout the 1930s. Among the criminals whom the FBI called “Public Enemies” were John Dillinger, Baby Face Nelson, Bonnie and Clyde, Ma Barker, and Alvin Karpis. Which three out of the six were in this film.

Leonardo DiCaprio was initially attached to star John Dillinger when this project was put into development in 2004. I am so glad they went with Johnny Depp.

I want you to know that this is a love story more than a gangster film. There is more love than violence. John is all about saving his girl. Now there is nothing wrong with that but it would be nice if we could have known about it. Maybe in a trailer say, hey this is a love story. At least something.

In one scene where John breaks out a window with a bag of money and begins to run there the woods, to me looked a lot like what happened with D. B. Cooper.

The ending with John is pretty much what happened in real life. (Yes you idiot, John Dillinger was real).

Rated R for gangster violence and some language.

File:PEPOSTERsm.jpg

One Response to “Public Enemies Review”

  1. S. Wade Says:

    Oh wow, I didn’t realize that Leonardo DiCaprio was originally attached; ugh, that would NOT have worked. Johnny Depp was a much better fit. Don’t get me wrong, I think Leo is a very good actor (after all, he stars in my all-time favorite movie: The Departed); I just think he wouldn’t have been a good fit for this role. The more I think about it, I didn’t mind Public Enemies so much. It was entertaining anyway. I think they could have made it a little more fast-paced though; it just seemed to slow down too much right after a really fantastic bank robbery or whatever. Too many slow spots, in my opinion. (Oh, and I have to say the supposedly American chic with a who-knows-where accent was really getting on my nerves…did you know that she’s an Oscar-winning actress? Just because you’ve won an Oscar doesn’t mean you’re perfect for any role. Good grief!)

    Oh, and I wanted to also tell you that I watched Into the Wild. LAME!!! I can’t believe I watched the whole thing. I kept saying to myself, “It’s going to get better; something’s got to happen.” And nothing ever happened. Talk about slow!! Definitely not worth the two-and-a-half hours I wasted watching it. (However, Benjamin Button still holds my record for all-time lamest movie ever; Into the Wild wasn’t quite at that level of lameness.)

Leave a Reply

